Acid Reign

Posted: January 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

Darkness

“Indigo 579, respond.”

“Indigo 579, respond.”

What is this place? Where am I?

“Indigo 579, your response is mandatory”

None of this seems right, how did I get here?

“Indigo 579, respond immediately.”

“Who are you talking to? Where am I?”

“Indigo 579, you will refrain from asking questions. What is your function?”

My function, what’s it talking about? Why don’t I remember anything? It’s so dark.

“Indigo 579, what is your function?”

“Why do you keep calling me that?”

“It’s your designation, please answer the question.”

My designation? My function? Why is it asking me these things? Why can’t I remember anything?

“Please, I don’t know what you’re talking about. Can’t someone just tell me what I’m doing here?”

Arvin Bunt had remained completely silent through the session, but his anger was unmistakeable. This had been going on far too long. It had taken months to get to this point, with so little progress, his patience was running very thin. “Why can it not answer simple commands?” said Bunt in a calm voice which belied his anger. “Um… I’m… I’m not sure sir, its synapses seem to be more damaged than we anticipated” stammered Sam Windell as he fidgeted nervously in front of the monitor. “Why is it asking questions, it’s not programmed to do that?” asked Bunt as he stared expressionless .  “I…I think it thinks it’s human, sir. Should I wipe its memory?” asked Windell.  “No you fucking idiot, fix it like you said you could.” Sam turned to offer Bunt his reassurances, but he was already out the door.

And so starts my first attempt at writing something fictional. I know it’s awful, but I’m hoping with practice I’ll get better.

Comments are closed.