My Big Brother

Posted: January 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

I have an older brother who’s mentally challenged. I don’t know if that’s the current politically correct term these days, as it has changed many times throughout my lifetime. I do know that he has innate abilities that would put most of the idiots who have called him names over the years to shame. He can’t read or write, but I think that has more to do with a horrendous education he received as a child, than his ability to learn. He has a small apartment in my home town, and he looks after himself pretty well. His landlord is an idiot, but tries his best to manage the place from a distant city. (that would be me, just in case it wasn’t obvious). I stay at his place when I’m in town, because we had to sell my mom’s house when she moved into a nursing home. I do worry about him when I’m not around, but mostly he doesn’t give me any need to.

It never ceases to amaze me the way he  can figure out how he can perform relatively complex tasks, without being able to read instructions. He is able to interconnect his tv, stereo, bluray player, surround sound speakers, program all remote controls, etc. He set up his new telephone and digital answering machine, and somehow it all just works. Today I explained the complexities of electricity production, and he gets it. I’m not sure I can say that about half the people where I work. He was too quickly written off by a society that wants to shape everyone using the same mold. Special needs education is something that benefits all of society, but it’s the first to get cut when times are tough. I have no doubt that with the proper educational techniques, he could have had so much more out of life, and contributed so much more. In the end he’s my brother and I love him, I just wish the rest of society could see him the same way.

Your Fool

Comments are closed.