Dear Abby – Cesspool*

Posted: February 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

I own a pool, or at least a poolcicle at the moment. I didn’t put it in, it came with the house. For three months of the year, I love having it. There really is nothing better on a hot day than basking in its cool watery goodness. Notwithstanding the evilness of waking it in the spring or putting it to bed in the fall, it takes up very little of my time or money. In the ten years or so since I’ve owned the place, I’ve never regretted having it. Now I have a dilemma. The pool is in desperate need of repair. It has been on life support for a few years, but I’ve delayed it as long as I can. I now need to spend about four thousand dollars to save its life, or pull the plug. Even the latter is going to cost money so it’s not a simple decision. I actually feel a little guilty spending so much money on a luxury. HELP! What should I do?

*cesspool – A filthy, disgusting, or morally corrupt place.

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    Why feel guilty? What would you do with the money otherwise? I assume it’s your own hard-earned money. Fix the pool.