Fool’s Journey

Posted: March 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

I used to hunt many years ago. I can’t say I really had any desire to shoot animals, but one of brothers is a fanatic and would drag me along. I really liked to get out in the woods, hike for many miles through swamps and streams, and around the many lakes that dotted the area. There really is something extraordinary about hiking through the wilderness, the fresh air, the solitude. I miss it. The last time I hunted, I had the misfortune of shooting a deer. Up until this time, I’d never actually killed anything. I think the thing that disturbed me the most about it was the brief moment euphoria after I had first taken this creature’s life. I still feel guilty about it, and rightly so. Although I generally remain silent to avoid conflict with friends and family, I find killing animals for sport is wrong.

The problem I have now is that I love hiking. Many years ago I had the pleasure of hiking through the foothills of the Canadian Rockies. My brother-in-law, who worked for a mining company at the time, brought me along to inspect a property he was assessing for decommissioning. We first flew the area in a helicopter (very cool), and then walked back to our original base. It was a gruelling walk, but I’d do it again in a heartbeat. I also had the incredible pleasure of hiking though the Lynn Valley Canyon in North Vancouver. It’s breathtaking, and I hope to do it again someday. I really need to get out more and do stuff. Hopefully this year I finally get out there and do something about it.

Your Fool

Suspension Bridge, Lynn Valley Canyon

Comments are closed.