Zoom Zoom

Posted: May 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

I went for a walk again this morning, albeit a shorter one. It was an absolutely beautiful morning, and I couldn’t let it go to waste. I passed a small garage with an old MGA sitting out front and it reminded me of a story. I decided to buy an old truck from a friend of my now ex brother-in-law. The truck was an International Scout, and was a bit of an oddball like me, so of course I had to have it. I think I paid five hundred dollars for it, but for struggling young punk that I was, it was still a lot of money. I was living Ottawa at the time and we had to drive over to the Quebec country side to pick up the truck. He picked me up in his Sunbeam Tiger. If you don’t know the car, Maxwell Smart drove one. It was about the size of a MGA, but had a rather massive Ford 289 engine in it. I was a super cool looking car, and also very fast. As a struggling grad student, this car was one of his only possessions and most certainly his baby. Inexplicably he asked “Do you want to drive it.” A thousand things raced through my head, not the least of which was ‘Is he fucking insane, what type of fool lets a nineteen year old drive his classic sports car?’ The thought of driving it terrified me, so I answered the only way I could, “Fuck Yeah”. To this day, I have never driven a car quite as fun as that one. It was almost a sad moment when we arrived at the place where he stored the truck. Alas I had to drive the truck home. Don’t get me wrong, I loved that truck. I almost cried when I had to sell it a couple of years later, because my evil brother-in-law didn’t want it stored in his driveway. There’s something magical about being poor and owning your first vehicle. Nothing I’ve owned since has ever held the same mystique.

Because I was stupid, I never took pictures back then, but here’s a few examples.

Sunbeam Tiger

International Scout

Comments are closed.