Sleep Deprived

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

Three yucky days at work, finally I can get some badly needed sleep. “Not so fast Mr.” ” What? Noooo. Why?” “You have work to do.” “But I just got home from work, please let me sleep?”  “Nope, sorry.”

Friday I called the pool place. They told me they would probably come Tuesday or Wednesday. Being fully fluent in sales speak, I knew this to mean ‘Fuck off, we’ll come when we come.’ Even though I knew this to mean I’d be lucky if they came this month, I’d planned to come home, get some sleep, and drain the pool down again. There was some crap in my driveway that was in the way and I’d have to move that too. Thank goodness I’d have all day to take care of this. It’s against the strictly followed code of contractors to ever show up earlier than they say they will, so I knew I’d have lots of time.

Now I’m not sure exactly why, maybe because of the full moon last night, the pool place called this morning. Inexplicably they’re coming today. Just when I think I have the world figured out, this happens. Having already conditioned myself for disappointment, I’m not quite sure how to react. I suppose I should be grateful. It is still possible that I dreamt the whole thing morning, or that I’m suffering from sleep deprived hallucinations, so I’m still somewhat leery. They are already late for the time they said they’d come, so I guess that counts for something.

Maybe I should shut up now, as I almost undoubtedly sound even more insane than usual.

 

Your Fool

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    Sheesh, I hope you get to use your pool sometime this summer

    • foolsmusings says:

      They are actively working on it, so it should be done by the end of the day. 🙂 Unfortunately this also means that by the end of the day I’ll have to pay for it. 😦