Foxy Lady

Posted: June 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

I very nearly forgot, but yesterday as I was mowing the lawn, a Red Fox crossed the road in front of me. Sorry for the capitalization, as it was a real fox, and not the late African-American comedian, that would have been a real story to tell. Anyway, the fox casually crossed the road, stopped at the edge of the woods and glanced over curiously at me as if to say “Oh neat, a human mowing his lawn”. After a few seconds it seemed to finally come to its senses, presumably thinking ” Holy fuck, a human with a lawn mower”, and took off like rocket. I tend to get a fair amount of wildlife show up on my property, probably because it borders the only stretch of woods left in the city. I saw a little bunny hopping across the lawn a while back. I haven’t seen it since, probably because it’s found a new home inside the fox. Oh, and as for why the for why the fox was crossing the road in the first place? Maybe it was following a chicken.

Not my fox, as I didn’t have my camera, but here’s reasonable facsimile I stole from the internet.

Your Fool

PS Time for a long walk.

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    Foxes are beautiful. My sister and I were taking a walk up on the Cape and there, standing in the path was a fox. Just standing there staring at us like a border guard. I half expected him to demand our papers. I guess we passed muster because he wandered off and let us pass.

    • foolsmusings says:

      When I visited my brother up north, he had them up on his lap eating from his hand. KInd of a dumb thing to do, but it was cute. I had pictures, but they were lost in a tragic hard drive accident.