Writing A Wrong

Posted: June 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

I suspect that some day this journal will be used as a case study in a psychology class, documenting a perfect example of a person’s steady decline into insanity. Although I like writing, I’m starting feel as if I’m running out of things even remotely interesting to talk about. Even my spam email, often a source of amusement is becoming predictable and boring. Besides, they seem to take weekends off, I guess even they have better thing to do on the weekends than writing nonsense. I know that in order to be a good author you need to experience life, but what do you do if you live in an area that very seldom gets attacked by aliens, or nearly wiped out by a plague? I could write more about how society is slowly being destroyed by religion and conservatism, but quite frankly I’d rather not encourage them. I could quit my job and go on the journey of discovery, but it would probably only take a few days before I was penniless and destitute. I could go into politics, but I would probably quickly decide that other peoples ideas were stupid, and declare myself supreme dictator. Besides, politics would do little to make my writing more interesting.

I’m beginning to worry that I need to do something insane, just to keep from going insane. Don’t worry, I’m not going to go on a crazed killing spree or anything like that. I actually quite like the concept of other people, I’ve just never been terribly good at interacting with them. I’d kind of like to take a creative writing course, but I haven’t stepped foot inside a real classroom for twenty-five years, not to mention that they would probably force me into an elementary school grammar class. Maybe in the fall when the new course schedule begins at the local college, I’ll matriculate. Does anyone else find that word to sound obscenely dirty? No. Just me then, eh. I guess I just have a filthy mind. I suppose I could write about that, but I’d probably just end up arrested or stoned. They still do that, don’t they?  In any case, it’s a dead give away that you’re not getting sex when all you can do is talk about.

I guess the only thing I can do is to keep thinking up ideas to make my life more interesting, and maybe I’ll finally come up with something I’m really good at, and enjoy doing. With any luck , the most interesting and exciting chapter of my life hasn’t happened yet. Even though often I feel old and beaten down, in reality I’m still a child at heart. I’ll just try to keep my imagination flowing, and just maybe I’ll finally decide what I want to do when I grow up. I’m still young, and if fate should have it that I die before I get there, so what. There are worse thing in life than never growing up.

Fuck, there’s that crazy optimism showing again.

Your Fool

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    Do not EVER take a creative writing course. If you’re not experiencing life, that’s what fantasy is for, right? Matriculate to me sounds like micturate, which isn’t necessarily dirty or sexy unless you are doing it on other people. And don’t get me started on THAT again. Writing sex has to be incredibly hard because nobody does it well. Most sex scenes I’ve read really make me cringe or laugh or both. Most people who write that stuff should be arrested or stoned for murdering the language. Well sex in general makes me cringe or laugh.

    • foolsmusings says:

      YaY! I’ve learned a new word today. Btw, stop making your comments funnier than my actual stories, you’re making me look bad. 😛

      ps jk don’t stop.