Staring At The Ceiling

Posted: June 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

When I first moved into my house, it was a disaster. It still is really, but I’m slowly making it less so. Just about every wall was covered in wallpaper, in some cases six or seven layers of it. I spent months removing it all, often wondering if there was really a wall under it, and not just layers and layers of the shit. To make matters worse, in the room that is now my office, the ceiling was covered with stucco. It was not even a neat pretty stucco, it was just gooped on. Imagine if a paper-mache doll had ejaculated on it and you’d probably get the picture. I spent a week scraping and sanding, all the while covered in dust. I think my neck is forever damaged by it. I still have a ton of work to do around here, and maybe next year when I’m finally done paying for it, I can finally afford to finish it. Never buy an old house unless you really, really like work and spending money.

Your Fool

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    Our house was built in the 1920’s and we are the second owners. Fortunately most of the interior had been untouched. Mom painted the ceiling in my room and she was going to do a skim coat of plaster before she painted. Her friend convinced her that she didn’t need to do that. So of course now the ceiling is shedding sheets of paint right over my bed.

    • foolsmusings says:

      Mine’s actually forty years newer, I just seems like it’s over a hundred at times. Consider the shedding a bonus, it almost never snows in my room.