Higgs

Posted: July 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

I won’t even pretend to have any more than a rudimentary understanding of particle physics, but I think the announcement of the possible discovery of Higgs boson to be spectacular. I know that there are many people who believe that this type of research costing 10s of billions of dollars, is a waste of valuable resources. I disagree, the money spent here would  never make its way into feeding the poor, and sheltering the homeless. Thinking that would be a complete misunderstanding of how the world’s monetary system functions. I know many people believe that proving a scientific theory holds no value to humanity at large, they couldn’t be more wrong. First, this proves that the scientific models are indeed correct, and that the path that’s being taken is the right one. Second, these models will in the future provide the basics for the practical discoveries that are key to our future. I only wish that I had an understanding of the complex mathematics and physics to fully understand this. Science is beautiful.

Comments are closed.