The View

Posted: July 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

I spent a good deal of time last week at my sister’s place on the lake last week. It is truly a beautiful, peaceful spot in Northern Ontario, in a fairly isolated location. It’s close enough to the nearest town to make shopping easy, and my brother-in-law still works part-time in a local business there. My sister spends most of her time gardening and landscaping during the summer months, and the place is immaculate inside and out.

My brother-in-law’s father purchased nearly eighty acres there for about $1000 in the early 60’s. He severed the lot about 20 years ago, and gave a spot to each of his children. My sister’s spot is about 7 acres, has 350 feet of lakefront and covers both sides of the lake. The cottage itself was constructed entirely by them, and is spectacularly built. I actually helped a little in it’s very early days. I guess it’s a pretty good example of what a little luck, and a lot of hard work will get you. I have deep respect for my sister and her husband. They still seem to deeply love each other after thirty years of marriage. A rarity these days.

Your Fool

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    Oh, it’s beautiful

    • foolsmusings says:

      I spent most of my time there this visit, but it meant driving back and forth to town to visit my mum about 45 minutes away each day. It was worth it.