The Best Thing About Work Is Not Being There

Posted: July 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

Several times a week, I’m required to put on my bravest face and go to work. Like billions of North Americans, I hate my job. Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for my employment. It provides for me the necessities of life like food, shelter, transportation and of course alcohol. It does seem however that the less you like your job, the more money you need to actually make life bearable. I propose a new system. How about if each of the seven billion people on earth each work one day a week? Seems to me that the name of the game these days is efficiency, so one billion people should be able to take care of things. We could all stop buying shit we don’t need and companies could stop producing all that worthless shit. The stuff we really do need could be made to last. It doesn’t have to be all at once, maybe they could start by making it last past the time it takes to make it out of the store. People could stop being gluttonous pigs, that alone would save us trillions in health care, beauty products, and those clothes that never fit us in the first place. We would still need a few vacation days each year to unwind and have something to look forward to. Fifty-two would be a nice round number.

Your Fool

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    I like this idea. The thing is that there is less and less work for people to do, and as we can already see, they ranks of the permanently unemployed are going to inexorably increase. There is more and more a significant percentage of the world’s population who will never have jobs. And the world is going to have to get used to it.