Payday

Posted: July 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

It’s payday. It doesn’t hold the same excitement it once did, but for the most part, I’m still grateful for it. Between two mortgages and a car payment, this paycheck is usually pretty much spoken for anyway. It’s a little embarrassing that my sister who only entered the workforce full time about twelve years ago after raising two children and an ex-husband, has already paid off her mortgage and is debt free. She always was the smart one, and has inherited my mum’s keen sense of money management. She works for the government, so I guess that’s where she gained her skills at fiscal austerity.

The weather forecast is calling for thunderstorms all day, which means that there is an ever so slight chance of rain today. Although it means that a walk will be out out of the question, it’s been so dry lately we are in desperate need of a downpour. I really don’t mind getting caught in the rain, but given my occupation, I have a healthy respect for electricity. Ideally it world pour rain every night and be clear every day. It would also have been ideal to be young and good-looking forever, never have to work, and not have to worry about such foolish things as a paycheck.

 

Your Fool

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    It’s already been raining here. We’ve been told to be prepared for some pretty wild weather later. Prepare means I guess stay inside. Young and good looking is pretty awesome, but I’m not sure I’d want to stay that way forever. This Friday’s paycheck has already gone on my car. And now it seems the a/c is not working (again) and I’m not going thru August without it.

    • foolsmusings says:

      If I remember correctly, there is generally an electrically operated clutch associated with the a/c compressor. It could be just a fuse. I apologize if my automotive tips seem condescending, if so, please feel free to tell me to shut up.