What? Still No Coffee?

Posted: August 5, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

This would be day three of my hiatus from coffee. I don’t really need one to this point, I could live without it. I don’t really sleep all that well lately and I want to see if I can change that by eliminating caffeine from my system. I drink it way too strong and it actually ends up costing a fortune besides. My money could be spent on better things. Now I know what your thinking, is a small coffee addiction really such a bad thing. There are many studies out there that have found quite the opposite. There is no denying that it tastes pretty good. I could just cut back a little, that would give me the best of all worlds. I gave up coffee completely, because I relate it too closely with another much more dangerous addiction.

When I was 13 years old, like many other teens at the time, I started smoking. For the last 33 yrs I’ve been a pawn to the cigarette companies. I’ve tried to quit a bunch of times like any other smoker, but to this point unsuccessfully. The cost alone is atrocious, it is costing me $300 a month to maintain my addiction. Even this is not really enough to make me quit, unlike many other smokers I can easily afford it. The biggest issue is my health. I’ve become very active this past year, and I don’t think it’s a good idea to continue to starve my body of oxygen, while working it hard. Even bigger than my physical health, is my mental health. I’m tired of allowing myself to just slide by, and I need to take control of my life. I guess it’s about finding willpower.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to do this, it’s really hard, but I do plan on fighting as hard as I can to succeed this time. Hopefully a year from now I can pat myself on the back for a job well done, and wonder why I hadn’t quit sooner. Wish me luck, I’m sure it certainly can’t hurt.

Your Fool

 

Comments are closed.