Maturity: Get Some

Posted: August 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

If I could just somehow manage to get rid of the couple of days a month where my life seems unbearable, I would be a happier person. I guess that in the big scheme of things, I’m pretty immature. You’d have thought that once I reached my forties that I’d be able to control my emotions a little better. I guess that I leave my problems to bottle-up and every once in while the cork pops leaving me a blubbering mess. I know that therapy would probably help and I think I might go back in the fall, but I know that the more understanding I have of my issues, the more they tend to weigh on me. As painful as quitting smoking has been, I really think that it’s the one thing that keeping me from putting my past behind me. The trouble is that smoking withdrawals are magnifying the issues. I guess I just need to keep taking things one day at a time, solving the small problems one at a time, and hopefully the big ones will fall into place on their own. Although I’ve come a long way in physical activity, I need to start putting the same emphasis on mental exercises. Ultimately I’m fixable, it’s just going to take a while.

 

Your Fool

Comments
  1. barnabyd says:

    I’ve never thought that maturity has anything to do with age. I’ve never understood what “act your age” means.