I almost quit quitting smoking, but I quit that too.

Posted: September 13, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The week started out pretty rough, and I came the closest since I’ve quit to start smoking again. I know how stupid it is to let depression rule my life and I’m happy to say that for the time being I’ve overcome that little hurdle.  I deleted my last entry, not that it wasn’t a reasonable depiction of my current struggles, but that it made me look more than a little pathetic and was counterproductive to  winning my battle against low self-esteem. Feeling sorry for myself is a hard habit to break, but I do know that it is the most important thing to overcome in order to move on with my life.

I’ve been finding it a little hard lately to motivate myself. My activity level has suffered greatly in the last month which I can only assume is the result of the psychological trauma of having quit smoking. An intelligent woman who I follow on twitter introduced me to a book called Easy Way To Stop Smoking. I usually shy away from these self help books, but she swears by it helping her to overcome decades of smoking and I value her opinion. It’s a pretty good read so far explaining the reason why people find quitting smoking so difficult. If this six dollar book can really help me to quit forever, it will be the ultimate victory against the cigarette companies.

I did go for a longish walk this morning. It is just my regular walk, but I’ve decided that I should be proud of the fact that I’m maintaining an active lifestyle. Most people my age are in no where near as good a shape as I’m in.  I might still get my hair cut today, it only about a half inch long but these days that about a half inch too long. It has been a tough couple of days and a bit of a test of my willpower, but I seem to have made it through unscathed.

Speaking of willpower it’s currently taking all of it to not go back and doctor the sign I passed today that said Pedi-Spa.

 

Your Fool

 

Comments are closed.