Hmm…a question?

Posted: October 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

It was a long but occasionally interesting weekend at work. There was the usual work like stuff, intermingled with healthy doses of rumours and gossip that would have given any middle-aged bridge quartet a run for their money. There was a bit of name calling, and inter-crew battle lines were drawn making me worry that we seem to have lost sight of the main goal which is to earn a living. It will all blow over soon enough, but it seems to have opened a brief window into human condition, so I thought I’d have a look.

Although I’d never really seen the connection before, it seems that every time we have a significant event, in a addition to the usual finger pointing and blame game that transpires, a significant number of unrelated micro-conflicts seem to arise. Whether it’s just the ubiquitous feelings of disappointment or frustration, or a more disturbing self-defence mechanism that causes people to go on the attack as a result of a heightened fear of persecution.

This has now lead me to a question which hopefully some of the brilliant people who occasionally read my blog will provide some perspective. Do significant macro events, causing individuals’ heightened insecurities, lead people to attack others for self preservation? Is there something about our make-up which causes us to act irrationally in these circumstances? I hope that I been able to explain well enough what I’m seeing, as it would be very interesting to see what others have to say about it, even if it’s to say, “Don’t be absurd”, or “Duh, of course”.

Your Fool

PS Spell check has told me that I have no spelling mistakes. Please feel free to make up songs to be sung to future generations, so that they too may behold my greatness.

Comments
  1. pinkagendist says:

    Of course!!!!!!! In the old days, when I collaborated with big companies, I could see it very clearly. When a mistake was made suddenly everyone was on the attack. Pre-emptive strikes. If someone was going down it wasn’t going to be them. I was particularly brutal, although, I was usually right 😀

  2. I don’t know why I never learnt to keep my head down and kept looking over the castle wall when someone needed blaming..