Merry Christmas

Posted: December 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

Christmas these days bares less resemblance every year to the ones I remember as a child. They were heavily steeped in religion and tradition, and were mostly about good food and family. Gift giving was really only a small part, and never really played a huge role in my life. As one of six children of a widowed mother who struggled daily just to make ends meet, there really was little money left for presents. I don’t begrudge that time, the small gifts that I did get were just that much more special.

As the years passed, even the gift exchanges with most of my siblings came to an end. They had families and with the distances becoming greater and greater between us, it really made the whole business impractical. Even the exchanges of liquor with one of my good friends has come to an end this year. We both have liquor cabinets full of booze that neither of us actually drink. I still send gifts to my oldest brother and my mum, both of whom still view Christmas through the eyes of a child.

It has been several years now since I’ve been back to my home town at Christmas. My mum’s been in a home now for years, and even my sister has since moved from town. She’ll have a lovely dinner for them all on Christmas day, but I tend to see little of her during my Christmas visits. When I’m there the whole nostalgia thing tends to grip me and I feel lonelier than ever, so it’s kind of nice to have the excuse of having to work. Besides driving up north at this time of the year can be down right scary.

It has been an up and down year for me and a bit trying at times, but all in all it has been a positive one. It has been a journey of discovery for me these last few years, and I think I’m beginning to understand myself a lot better. I’ve made new friends this year both online and in the really real world, and have made what is hopefully the beginning of a very long, close friendship with a wonderful young man. I won’t get to see him over Christmas, but I’ll be working anyway keeping the lights on and the turkeys roasting. It’s just the wonderful giving person that I am.

Merry Christmas, happy holidays, and may 2013 be a year of wonders and prosperity for you all.

 

Your Fool

 

 

Comments
  1. makagutu says:

    Merry christmas buddy

  2. barnabyd says:

    Merry Christmas dude! I am so glad you found someone. Makes all those other changes a little more bearable doesn’t it.